WIE Season 3 EP 19 PART 2: What Hartford Disability Insurance Company Did From What a Doctor Said

Disability Insurance
6 followers
11 Video Views·Sep 6, 2026
In the latest episode of the WIE Podcast, we revisit a case from the first season of the show. This time, we're looking at what happened when a doctor said that an individual with disabilities should not be covered by Hartford disability insurance.
AI Generated·May contain errors
Video Summary
AI GeneratedThis video discusses the tactics used by disability insurance companies to wrongfully terminate long-term claims, using the case of Anthony Carelli vs. Hartford Life as a primary example. It emphasizes the danger of \"cherry-picking\" medical records and the critical importance of having an ERISA attorney to manage claims and prevent insurers from exploiting optimistic but conditional physician statements.
Welcome back to winning isn't easy. So what did Hartford do when a doctor said that he was hopeful
that the policyholder could return to work in six months? I will tell you nothing will stop a
disability insurance company from looking for reasons to terminate a long-term disability claim
even if the policyholder has been receiving those long-term disability benefits for over 20 years.
Now one of the games that disability carriers will play is to cherry pick a doctor's statements and
they will also cherry pick the medical records. They'll take these statements out of context to
justify a wrongful claim termination and they're going to bet that they're going to win in federal
court. So this is a real story. Let me tell you the story of Anthony Carelli who worked as the
vice president of Bear Stearns until December of 1999. He was injured in a catastrophic motor vehicle
accident and he was left permanently disabled. He underwent many surgeries, he had negative side
effects of a doctor prescribed pain medication, he suffered a stroke, he began to suffer from
depression and clearly he was disabled. Hartford paid benefits through 2019 and at that point the
games began and it began because one of his physicians didn't help him. In 2019 the treating
physician Dr. Francis said that he was hopeful that Carelli could return to work in six
months if certain treatments and changes in medication proved effective. That's a heck of a
lot of ifs, isn't it? But that didn't deter Hartford from terminating his benefits after the change in
treatment and medication and it didn't matter that it wasn't successful. They denied his claim and
ultimately of course this goes to federal court. Judge Sessions of the United States District Court
in Vermont was not impressed with Hartford. Now in my view this case is a classic textbook claims
denial. It's textbook 101. One of the basic principles in an ERISA case is that a disability
carrier has to justify a claims determination based on a change in medical condition.
So what did Hartford do? They seized on comments in the treating physician provider's records
and how the provider completed the attending physician statement form or alleged perhaps that
there had been some improvement. This is classic textbook claim denial 101 and I think it
illustrates why you should be having an experienced ERISA disability attorney monitoring and managing
your claim even if it's being paid. Even if it's been paid for 20 years. In this case the medical
records continue to document that Carelli suffered from significant pain because of an L3 to L5
fusion of the back. He had limited ability to sit stand and bend at the waist. He had difficulty
kneeling and crouching or reaching above his shoulders. The trouble began when Dr. Francis
made that note. And again the carrier is going to seize on that. I hate it when a doctor says
well if we change the treatment there might be a reassessment of the medical condition if there's
been improvement and we're going to try this and try that. There's no problem doing any of that
but to predict that potentially there's going to be improvement that just makes for problems.
Now Francis was well-intentioned because he was on a lot of medication and we know that
physicians are not all that wild about the use of narcotic medication. And so he, Dr. Francis,
was trying to address this ongoing use of pain medication to see if there were
alternative treatments. But that doesn't mean that you're necessarily going to improve and
that you're necessarily going to be able to return to work. And in this particular case
after Dr. Francis changed the treatment there wasn't any change in his condition. And Francis said
look I think this condition is permanent. Well guess what? Hartford said well we're going to send
a letter to Dr. Francis and we're going to ask him whether or not Carelli could engage in sedentary
work that involves sitting most of the time but could do a little walking and a little standing
for brief periods of time. Dr. Francis didn't do Carelli a favor here. He took the bait and he
opined that Carelli could do sedentary work on a full-time basis. He completed an additional
attending physician statement form documenting that Carelli could sit, stand, or walk for an
hour at a time and could sit for four hours out of an eight-hour day. Now if Carelli had been
represented his attorney would have headed this off at the pass and had Francis clarify his opinion
and make it clear that Carelli couldn't work or even have Carelli undergo a functional capacity
evaluation to document that. Now Hartford said hey we're going to deny this claim because of his notes
and Dr. Francis's APS forms. Obviously Carelli appeals and guess what? He had that functional
capacity evaluation in January of 2020 and it found that he could only sit for one hour at a
time for a total of three to four hours in an eight-hour day. He could only stand for 10 minutes
at a time and he could only do that for a total of one hour in an eight-hour day. He only had the
stamina for two to three hours of work per day and during that functional capacity evaluation
Carelli's pain level was between a five and a seven. What does Hartford do? Well Hartford attacks
the functional capacity evaluation and it was critical of the FCE provider's evaluation methods.
Carelli had two failing scores on the grip strength test and Hartford noted that that
consistency of effort was poor and therefore the results of the functional capacity evaluation
wasn't valid. They argued that the FCE provider should have done a third test of validity and that
the FCE results were based on Carelli's self-reports which were not validity tested. Now it also should
be noted that the APS forms and the FCE documented restrictions and limitations that were really
less than sedentary. Fortunately Dr. Francis signed off on the January 2020 FCE and of course Hartford
was not going to change its opinion so they retained a medical reviewer who disagreed with
the FCE and agreed with Dr. Francis's original opinion on October of 2018 that Carelli could do
a sedentary job on a full-time basis. You can see how the doctor really screwed this case up.
So what did the federal judge do? Well this is the case of Carelli versus Hartford Life at
Santa Vermont and as I noted the judge closely reviewed the medical records and realized that
Dr. Francis had revoked his opinion that Carelli might improve and had informed Hartford that
Carelli was still disabled from all professions despite Dr. Francis's earlier optimism and the
court rejected fortunately Hartford's arguments about the FCE. They noted that while the validity
testing and the objective measures were desirable that the court couldn't and shouldn't dismiss
subjective self-reporting as presumptively invalid and in a dig at Hartford the court noted that if
Hartford was using the grip test to suggest that the FCE provider's methods were flawed or that Carelli
wasn't credible or both those attacks were thin like thin ice. The FCE report reflected a thorough
examination that was performed over four to five hours and there were a number of a variety of
assessment tools and the consistency of effort was evaluated by several means and so the court said
I'm not buying this and the court also looked at Carelli's credibility. The judge looked at the
consistency of the reporting for over 20 years and the judge said look there's no malingering of
suggestion of malingering in any of these records and the court therefore concluded that Hartford
abused its discretion. Carelli's medical history clearly established that since the car accident
his treating physicians had all maintained that he was unable to perform full-time work and that
his condition was permanent. The records didn't show any evidence of any change in Carelli's
medical condition to justify a claims denial despite Dr. Francis's wishful thinking. Fortunately
the judge reversed the denial and awarded benefits but it took years years to correct what could have
been corrected if Carelli only had an ERISA disability attorney on retainer monitoring his
forms and the medical records. Got it? Let's take a break. Are you a professional with questions
about your individual disability policy? You need the Disability Insurance Claim Survival Guide for
Professionals. This book gives you a comprehensive understanding of your disability policy with tips
and to-dos regarding your disability application that will assist you in submitting a winning
disability application. This is one you won't want to miss. For the next 24 hours we are giving away
free copies of the Disability Insurance Claim Survival Guide for Professionals.
Order yours today at disabilityclaimsforprofessionals.com
